Nobody’s Model

img_2084
A shot of the different flags displayed at the Koret Atrium inside the Martin Luther King, Jr. Library at San Jose State University in San Jose, CA. Photo credit: Lloyd Alaban

Research on the model minority has waned a bit since the term became popular in the 1980s and 90s. But its affects are still there: Asian Americans are less likely to head boardrooms and be politically involved. However, it felt like Asian Americans were making a lot of progress. There was in increase in Asians breaking out in Hollywood, and a few Asian Americans being elected into office – including the nation’s first Indian American United States Senator. In wake of the recent election, it feels like we’ve taken a dozen steps back after the few inches we’ve gained since electing the first president of color. A candidate who ran the most openly-racist campaign in US history will now be the next President of the United States. That’s a shocking thought. Racism, sexism, misogyny, homophobia, xenophobia and Islamophobia have now been normalized with this man’s ascension.

However, we can’t let that happen. This blog has been all about exposing the biases that still promote a decades-old stereotype that in effect, holds an entire group back. Holds it back from being seen equal, holds it back from countless opportunities, holds it back from the help it needs. I believe that especially in these times, it’s important to call out such thinking. If thinking like this goes unchecked, it harbors the type of exclusionary thoughts that promoted a racist to the presidency. And all of the sudden, it’s now OK to yell at minorities to go back to their country, or to write racial epithets on people’s property. That’s unthinkable. Considering how diverse this country is, that’s unacceptable.

This site isn’t merely a place for me to rant about things I don’t like. It’s my try at taking action in other ways. Ways that are constructive, facilitate a dialogue and play to my strengths as a writer. Writing is a talent I’ve always had, and I hope to carry it on to let my voice be heard. Many have told me that every writer needs something he or she is passionate about to help keep his or her craft going. Asian American issues have been my passion since I was an undergrad, and I feel like this opportunity to blog has been a great platform to help me find my voice.

But it’s also a way to give back to my community – a community of mentors, teachers, professors and bosses that have taught me so much about these issues. In the face of such divisive times, we must always try to channel some positive energy to help out. I’ll continue to write about Asian American issues and their impact on our society. Maybe one day, the last vestiges of the model minority will die out. Hopefully though, my passion won’t.

I’m nobody’s model. I’m my own person with my own voice. We, as Asian Americans, should embrace that.

Leave a comment